On January 20, Donald Trump will be sworn in as the 45th President of the United States.

Below is a list of some interesting facts and trivia surround this ceremony.


George Washington’s was the shortest inaugural address at 135 words. (1793)

Thomas Jefferson was the only president to walk to and from his inaugural. He was also the first to be inaugurated at the Capitol. (1801)

The first inaugural ball was held for James Madison. (1809)Barack Obama Sworn In As U.S. President For A Second Term

William H. Harrison’s was the longest inaugural address at 8,445 words. (1841)

The first inauguration to be photographed was James Buchanan’s. (1857)

Abraham Lincoln was the first to include African-Americans in his parade. (1865)

William McKinley’s inauguration was the first ceremony to be recorded by a motion picture camera. (1897)

Women were included for the first time in Woodrow
Wilson’s second inaugural parade. (1917)

Warren G. Harding was the first president to ride to and from his inaugural in an automobile. (1921)

Calvin Coolidge’s oath in 1925 was administered by Chief Justice (and ex-president) William Taft. It was also the first inaugural address broadcast on the radio. Coolidge was sworn in by his father, a notary public, when he assumed the presidency in 1923 after Warren Harding’s death. It was the first time a president was sworn in by his father.

Harry Truman’s was the first to be televised. (1949)

John Kennedy’s inauguration had Robert Frost as the first poet to participate in the official ceremony. (1961) The only other President to feature poets was Bill Clinton. Maya Angelou read at his 1993 inaugural, and Miller Williams read at his second, in 1997.

Lyndon Johnson was the first (and so far) only president to be sworn in by a woman, U.S. District Judge Sarah T. Hughes. (1963)

Ronald Reagan’s second inaugural had to compete with Super Bowl Sunday. (1985)

On the second day of his presidency, Barack Obama was sworn in a second time by Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. because, following Roberts’s lead, Obama improperly recited the oath. He said, “I will execute the office of President of the United States faithfully.” The word “faithfully” belongs between “will” and “execute.” (2009)

Location of the Oath
All but six presidents took the presidential oath in Washington, D.C. The exceptions were:

George Washington—1789, New York City; 1793, Philadelphia

John Adams—1797, Philadelphia

Chester Alan Arthur—1881, New York City

Theodore Roosevelt—1901, Buffalo

Calvin Coolidge—1923, Plymouth, Vermont

Lyndon Baines Johnson—1963, Dallas

When Washington and Adams were sworn in, the U.S. capital had not yet been transferred from Philadelphia to Washington, D.C. (the latter became the seat of government beginning Dec. 1, 1800). Arthur, T. Roosevelt, Coolidge, and L. B. Johnson had all been vice-presidents who assumed the presidency upon the deaths of their predecessors, and none was in Washington, D.C., when the oath of office was administered.


Except for Washington’s first inaugural, when he was sworn in on April 30, 1789, all presidents until 1937 were inaugurated in March in an effort to avoid bad weather. The 20th Amendment to the Constitution (passed in 1933) changed the inaugural date to January 20. Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Second Inauguration was the first to have been held on that date.

Inaugural Weather

Between 1789 and 1993, 35 inaugurations enjoyed clear weather. During ten inaugurations it rained, and seven had snow. The warmest inauguration was Ronald Reagan’s first (Jan. 20, 1981). It was 55°. The coldest was Reagan’s second (Jan. 21, 1985). It was 7°.